Those Zany Waterloo Bobbsey Twins

Anne sitting in a chair in her aunt's living room.
Anne in 1966.

My dear friend, Judy, and I were nicknamed the Bobbsey Twins throughout our school years.

At St. Mary’s High School in Kitchener, which had strict uniform policies and rules, we shared the same locker. At that time, Judy was tall and I was short; Judy had long feet and I had short feet.

The locker was divided in two by a shelf; she had the top half and I had the bottom half. We shared all the same classes so it was easy for us.

Anne and Judy standing side by side dressed as nuns.
Anne and Judy dressed as nuns for Hallowe’en

One day, we were finished our class and we got separated, so I went to the locker quickly, got the gym clothes and shoes, and went off to the dressing rooms. We were on a tight time line so there was no time for fooling around. Unfortunately, when I put on my gym outfit (like a one piece with bloomer bottoms) I realized I had Judy’s shoes and outfit by mistake! There was no time to go back to the locker. Once I was lined up in the gym, I realized that Judy wasn’t there. So there I stood in that lineup with huge shoes that I had trouble keeping on my feet and a gym suit that went down to my knees, wondering what happened to Judy!

Judy, on the other hand, thought it was lunch time. She got her chocolate milk and her lunch and was all settled in waiting for me at our usual table in the cafeteria. When she realized I wasn’t coming, and had the realization that she was late for gym, she went to the office for a late slip. The principal tried to be severe but had a hard time not laughing. Late slip in hand, Judy returned to our locker. She quickly picked up the other set of gym clothes and shoes and took off for the dressing room. Once there, she had to struggle into shoes and an outfit that were way too small. But she managed somehow and walked tip-toed into the gym. The gym teacher looked at the two of us, rolled her eyes, and wondered what we were trying to pull off. In very serious tones, we advised her of our predicament, and fortunately, we escaped a detention! After all, the Bobbsey Twins never got into trouble intentionally!

Judy and Anne sitting next to each other on a couch all dressed up.
Judy and Anne as seniors in high school.

Our punishment was to struggle through that gym class with our poor fitting uniforms and shoes. Judy and I have been laughing about this story all these years since.

 

Our high school years were good ones, and we enjoyed them thoroughly. Incidentally, one teacher we had for English in grade 10, also taught with my husband at St. David. Last July, Judy and I were standing side by side at my mother’s wake when this same teacher came over to me to express her condolences. She looked at both of us and said, “My, and you two are still together!!”

Anne and Judy in university standing side by side in a doorway.
The Bobbsey Twins all grown up!
Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.