John Fioravanti: HELP FOR INDIE AUTHORS!

head shot of John Fioravanti

As an Indie author, do you feel alone? Are you unsure about how to get your manuscript ready for publication? Are you undecided as to which distribution company to commit to? Do you feel intimidated by the prospect of marketing your new book? If you answered yes to any or all of these questions, you are in good company!

I began my professional journey one year ago by launching, with my partner and wife, our publishing company that we named, Fiora Books. I had a book I authored and published with another Indie publisher in 2007, ready to be republished with our own imprint. I had drafts of my first two novels in a new series ready for editing. A friend helped me set up our fiorabooks.com website as well as a new Twitter account and Facebook page. All set, right? Not by a long shot, and I knew it.

I began to feverishly research all aspects of preparing a book for publication, uploading it to  ebook and paperback distributors, and marketing. I felt out of my depth. Thirty-five years teaching high school History did not prepare me for the realities of marketing in this digital age! The more I read, the worse I felt. How will I figure this out?

I began to search the LinkedIn groups I had joined, looking for someone who could help. I had no budget to hire the many individuals and companies trying to sell their services. Then I found someone – an Indie author and an entrepreneur from the UK. I reached out to him, and he offered me the benefit of his experience – free! His name is Chris Ward. He gave me the best piece of advice I had come across in months: he suggested I join the Rave Reviews Book Club because their mission is to profile, promote & propel the careers of Indie authors. It doesn’t get any more altruistic than that!Rave Reviews Book Club logo

In a nutshell, the Rave Reviews Book Club urges all of its members to purchase, read and review the books of other members. It features many different ways to profile its members and promote their books. But hold the phone! the RRBC offers free review and author mentoring services. I could go on and on, but see for yourself at http://ravereviewsbynonniejules.wordpress.com/

I’ve been a member since July, 2014 and I’m no longer alone! Today, the Club members total over 560 people – most of whom are authors. We have members all over North America, Europe, Aftrica, Australia, etc. It is truly an international organization and I’ve made many friends who happily reach out to share their experience and expertise when asked. I’m learning and find myself reaching out to help others. Nonnie Jules created more than a literary club with Rave Reviews Book Club, she created a family!

See for yourself! Spend some time perusing Nonnie’s Club website – I’m sure you’ll be pleasantly surprised. There is no other entity like the RRBC. I know, I looked!

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

4 thoughts on “John Fioravanti: HELP FOR INDIE AUTHORS!”

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

