Use Your Head For More Than A Hat Rack!

“A brain is useless unless it is in constant think and learn mode.  God didn’t give you a brain for you to sit and ‘wish’ for things to happen, so use it for what it was intended, and get off your tush and make things happen.”

~ Nonnie Jules

Tune in to the RAVE WAVES BlogTalkRadio show, ASPIRE TO INSPIRE where this post is the topic of a lively discussion. This is a production of Rave Reviews Book Club.

RW - Aspire to Inspire

Of all her original quotes I have found on Nonnie’s blog site, this is one of my favourites! I have worked closely with Nonnie for about six months now, and these are words that she lives by. Nonnie Jules doesn’t abide laziness of any kind, but someone operating in a mindless way irks her the most.

The brain is the most complex organic machine known to man. Experts, who study it, will tell us that we have only begun to understand how the brain works, and they estimate that most of us use just ten percent of its capacity. There have been countless studies done to nail down how the brain learns. While I was teaching high school students, I read many articles about learning theories, each of which, promoted new teaching methods to facilitate student learning.

I remember the day when we had a professional development day with a guest speaker giving us a full day in-service about learning styles. Really?? I wasn’t very happy about my lesson preparation workload multiplying. Unfortunately, what was deemed as the most effective new pedagogy began to feel like “the flavour of the month” and I stopped turning my teaching methods upside down. All I knew for sure, was that, students who wanted to learn, would… even if that meant I had to get out of their way first.

In the first sentence of Nonnie’s quote, she speaks of this very point. We must have our brains in constant motion – thinking and learning. Lots of people (of all ages) shy away from this constant learning mode. I think that’s just laziness because learning new things requires some effort. As well, there are those who think that once their formal schooling is finished, that they don’t need to learn anything else. One of the clearly stated goals of the Ontario curriculum was to help transform students into lifelong learners. This reminds me of something my best buddy’s father told us when we were kids. He said, “The mark of the educated man is not how much he knows, but that he knows where to find the information he needs.” I never forgot that, and Nonnie is clearly on the same page.

She goes on to talk, in her irrepressible way, about wishing our lives away as opposed to using our brains to make things happen. There are a couple of things that came to mind as I read this. It is incredible how many people will sit around and wait for something or someone else to make something happen in their lives. That speaks of a powerlessness that disturbs me. On the one hand, I realize that there are some things we can’t make happen by ourselves, but that’s not what Nonnie means. She is exhorting us to initiate change or begin new things in our lives, and often that requires us to seek out assistance.

Nonnie Jules is all about people standing up on their own two feet, taking control of their own lives, and working hard to make good things happen. One of the reasons I love this quote so much, is that Nonnie lives her words. She puts monster hours every day into her publishing business, 4WillsPublishing, her writing, and her brainchild, Rave Reviews Book Club. Her enthusiasm is boundless and she enjoys lighting fires under people to get them moving. But best of all, Nonnie Jules thinks and works as hard as she does in order to support her fellow Indie authors to be as successful as they can be. Her industry and selflessness earn her the right to sound off at people who don’t think and/or won’t work hard to make things happen. It is the main reason why those of us who know and love her, consider her to be Rave Reviews’ Wonder Woman!

Nonnie Jules walks her talk!

 

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

10 thoughts on “Use Your Head For More Than A Hat Rack!”

  1. I don’t know that I have ever seen this post, but John, thank you very much! How humbling it is to sit and read what others think of you…you people are just so amazing, and I cherish each of you daily.

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU & THANK YOU again!

    #MyWonderPeople

    Like

  2. You are right John. Nonnie is an inspiration to me too. There are those who dream of greatness, and those who strive for greatness, and reach greatness. Nonnie is among these later ones, and I admire her a great deal. May she continue to grow. Thank you John for sharing.

    Like

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

