Imitation Is Suicide!

“Trust yourself. Think for yourself. Act for yourself. Speak for yourself. Be yourself. Imitation is suicide.”

~ Marva Collins

Marva Delores Collins (1936-2015) was an American educator, born in Alabama, but spent most of her teaching career in Chicago. Concerned about the quality of education available to black students from impoverished families, Collins started the Westside Preparatory School in 1975 using her personal funds and ran it with her daughter for the next 30 years.

As a retired educator, I found myself identifying with her story, despite the fact that our circumstances were not similar. Throughout my career, I happened upon many educators who, like Collins, were deeply dedicated to the well-being of their students. It is from this perspective that I reflect upon her words. I am drawn to this short quote because it consists of six short, yet powerful exhortations – each in a separate sentence.

As a person in the autumn of my life, I know that living well is synonymous with continuous learning. I need to know facts that are new to me, skills that will serve me well and new understandings that will enhance the daily living that I do. Collins tells us, “Trust yourself.” Often, a lack of confidence will supply daunting obstacles in the path of new learning. Certainly, there are people who are my intellectual superior, but I need to trust enough in my abilities to set out to learn new things in a deliberate way. Establishing self-trust is a crucial first step.

“Think for yourself.” Sometimes people rely on other people’s thinking because they don’t trust their powers of analysis, and sometimes it stems from a desire to be in agreement with what appears as the current wisdom. Either way, it is a denial of self. No matter our level of education or type of life experience, we all have the ability to apply reason to any and all circumstances. If we are to grow beyond who and what we are at the moment, we need to think habitually for ourselves.

Next, Marva Collins exhorts us to, “act for yourself.” We make many choices of action every day. Are we choosing well? Do we attempt to please others and fit into the expectations of family and social group? If we analyse a situation and decide on a course of action based on our values and moral compass, then we act for ourselves. To act in this way is the freedom of choice. The flip side of this coin is the acceptance of the consequences of our choices. In other words, we must act in a way that is true to ourselves.

“Speak for yourself.” Do I seek the asylum of the majority by appearing to communicate on behalf of that group? Do I legitimise my ideas by identifying them with those held by others? If I do, I’m no better than a mindless fool who lacks the intestinal fortitude to speak my ideas and claim ownership of them. I need to shed my fear that I may become unpopular in the process. It is an essential part of personal growth.

As well, we are encouraged to, “be yourself.” To thine own self-be true. If I follow all of the preceding precepts, I will be myself. I need to trust who I am and respect the process of becoming. I will make mistakes. I may become mired in a rut that discourages personal growth. The path to becoming a better person is never without obstacles and setbacks.  I need to be sure that I do not make the mistake of selling myself out.

Finally, Marva Collins shares this truth, ” Imitation is suicide.” If I spend my life sculpting myself into an imitation of the majority or the most popular or the most successful, then where can I be found? There are people in this world who are amassing fortunes by selling their wares based on the appeal of ‘imitation’. If I wish to be ‘cool’ or fit in, then I must buy the latest fashions and colours – or the latest technology. I would rather impress someone by who I am than by what I wear. My soul is the greatest of all treasures, and it must be nurtured as the unique entity that it was created to be.

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

31 thoughts on “Imitation Is Suicide!”

  1. John, your reflections are one of my favourite things to read. I often pause and reflect on your words, gaining insight from my own journey of self-reflection. I can say, with complete certainty, that you are and always will be a teacher I’ve come to respect deeply. For that I offer my heartfelt gratitude. I’m at a place in my life where I honour and respect the process of becoming. It’s a beautiful place to be. 🙂

    Like

      1. You’re very welcome, John! I imagine many of your prior students hold you in highest regard. To carry your gift forward as a writer and author is truly inspiring. A legacy to be proud of for sure. Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

        Like

  2. Another brilliant, thought-provoking post, John! Thank you for sharing this with us. We have developed a world of followers instead of a world filled with individuals who create their own paths in life. I am hoping that the mindfulness trend keeps growing and, with it, a return to the self.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Yvette for your very kind words! It is fascinating that individualism was one of the foundational principles upon which your country was built – and yet all that seems to be forgotten. This is true in my country too. However, all great undertakings must start with self – to fashion ourselves into individuals who are seen to be embracing all others no matter what trivial differences exist. In my view, the fact that we are so similar to each other, eclipses our differences which become inconsequential. Thanks for your ongoing support, Yvette!

      Like

  3. Wonderful reflection, John. It may take some of us a lifetime to truly embrace this wisdom, but when we do — what miracles await!! Thank you…

    Like

  4. Fabulous post, John. The breakdowns of each element from Marva’s quote are excellent. Interesting that if we start with the first one, “Trust yourself”….the rest will surely follow.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words, Mae. I was struck by the fact that Collins started with self-trust. But it is very basic to the rest of her recipe. If there’s little or no self-trust, the rest will not follow!

      Like

  5. I like this article about truth and the real thing .
    That is the way I felt about Obama – he was the real thing and feel so sad to see him go

    Like

  6. That is one collection of marvellous quotes, John! 😀

    I do have a superficial caveat on the final one however… Imitation is a fundamental and highly practical learning aide.It’s how we learn to talk/communicate, walk and interact with others from the we emerge from the womb.
    As we age, and for writers in particular, we also gravitate to people we admire and want to emulate and this also involves a form of imitation. We all have heroes and, for writers, they invade our own work because reading them has affected the way we write ourselves. I’m not talking about blind imitation, but I can trace traits of Tolkien, Terry Pratchett, Austen and many more favourite authors in my writing, because they’ve been my teachers and shown me good habits.

    I’m sure that perspective must be compatible with what Miz Collins is saying? I was just a little taken aback at the vehemence of her take on it, which seems to denigrate any form of imitation.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jan! I can see why Collins’ statement about imitation could be interpreted as you have. However, taken in the context of the previous five statements that preceded it, it is clear to me that Collins intended no such thing. There is absolutely nothing wrong with the types of imitation that you have used in your examples. It’s when we succumb to the ‘herd mentality’ that Ani spoke about, that we lose our sense of self – hence the term ‘suicide’.

      Like

      1. Thanks, John. I thought that must be the case, but ‘suicide’ is a very emotive word to use around me most days, so it’s down to me letting it spark my hair triggers… 😉

        Like

  7. Although all this is very true and very inspirational, our society is based around the herd mentality. It’s easier to control, and create momentum in, the group mentality, than it is to rope in single individuals. However, that way of thinking and doing things has gotten us into trouble. We all need to rethink how we think and accept the infinite diversity in infinite combination principle (yes, my Trekness is showing… :)) and celebrate the uniqueness and inspiration that comes from individuality. It the only way the human race will survive..

    Like

    1. I agree, Ani, and the thousands of commercial and political ads that bombard us daily are ample evidence that the herd mentality is alive and well. We do need to nurture and preserve our uniqueness each and every day. Thanks for stopping by with your comments, Ani!

      Like

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

