Reading Diverse Books is the First Step to Healing Our Country.

A personal and thoughtful article that makes an important contribution to the discussion about social relationships in our society by Linda Mims!

The Long and Short Stories of Life

For a curious little girl, books opened a world of wonder to me. I especially loved fiction and fairy tales because I was blissfully hopeful and I believed in happily ever after. I enjoyed storytellers like The Brothers Grimm and Aesop because, even as a child, I was unconsciously studying style. Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys and I had some exciting times together. I cavorted with the “Little Women” of Louisa May Alcott and hung out on the streets with Oliver Twist.

I devoured good writing, paying little attention to what color the characters were. Except for the occasional mention of blond hair or blue eyes, I didn’t dwell on the characters being white. Our mutual quests for love, happiness, fair play, and equal treatment were basically the same. I grew up being a reader of diverse books. In fact until I went to college, I hadn’t even picked up…

View original post 848 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

4 thoughts on “Reading Diverse Books is the First Step to Healing Our Country.”

  1. I really enjoyed Linda Mims piece on reading diverse cultures. One of my favorite authors is Jhumpa Lahiri whose writing explores Indian culture. I especially appreciate the struggles of retaining ones cultural identity while integrating into American society — the stew, not the melting pot! Thanks for sharing your reading list!

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about Linda’s post, Luna. I’m told that when my paternal grandfather left his small village outside of Rome to emigrate to Canada (Toronto) in 1912, new immigrants wished to fit into the predominantly white, English-speaking country and willingly shed their culture in order to do that. Today, most of us see things differently, but fitting into a society that looks and operates differently is a great struggle.

      Like

      1. For Christmas I gave my niece a hard copy of Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt. As an educator, I am sure you must have enjoyed that memoir! She loved it! I wasn’t sure it would capture a young person today. I had read it so long ago. But I was pleased to hear she has shared it with a friend! Have you read, What Is the What? The hilarious tale of a Sudanese child refugee who immigrated to the United States under the Lost Boys of Sudan program? I read that ten years ago, and it has always been a favorite. I could go on…and on… but this was a very interesting piece to comment on.

        Like

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

