What have the Romans ever done for us? – Guest Post By Ian Hutson

Ian Hutson takes us on a delightfully entertaining and informative ride on Britain’s historic inland waterways on vessels I never knew existed! I was so entertained, I bought his book, NGLND XPX!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

Some people write on paper, I write on water. Writer types are a discrete but diverse species, and live in a variety of dwellings. Doubtless some live in mud huts and one or two probably live in castles or palaces. I got the chance to live on a boat and I jumped at it (not literally). It’s alright though, it’s my boat, I’m not a stowaway or anything.

It’s taken me a year of hard searching, organising, downsizing and finally just plain horrible DIY to achieve my current status as a happy water-rat, and I’d like to share some of the ups, downs, ins, outs, highs, lows and hammer-smashed thumbs with you. First though, I ought to set the scene, and explain why my boat, nb Cardinal Wolsey, measures 57’ long but only 6’ 10” wide, and has a cruising speed of just 2 to 3 miles per hour –…

View original post 1,495 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

3 thoughts on “What have the Romans ever done for us? – Guest Post By Ian Hutson”

  1. Thank you John! It’s a bit of a cheat, really, because the world of boats and canals almost writes itself. I will do my level best to keep picking out (only) the best bits for future posts. Nice to have met you online. 🙂

    Like

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

