Fierce Rhetoric

This review of the movie “I AM NOT YOUR NEGRO” is both moving and inspirational!

Busy K Blog

I Am Not Your Negro – Review

James Baldwin, Associated Press. James Baldwin, Associated Press. The Oscar-nominated “I Am Not Your Negro” is a piercing film about writer, poet, and social critic James Baldwin. He was one of our the most critical advocates for equality, and his work holds an essential place in the canon of American literature. The film finds its structure from Baldwin’s own words. Readby Samuel Jackson in the most understated performance of his career, those words have a renewed relevance today. Back-to-back shows have been at the Film Forum this month. It’s one of the most important films you’ll see all year.

I came to James Baldwin through Maya Angelou from an interview I did with her for Oprah’s Master Class. She recalled learning about the death of Martin Luther King Jr.

“I fell into a depression I’d never known before. What on earth had happened to my country? …I…

View original post 785 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

4 thoughts on “Fierce Rhetoric”

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

