To rant or not to rant: The eternal question of the blogger #Blogging #Amwriting

Dena Haggerty treats us to a frank discussion about conducting a rant when writing a blog piece. There is important food for thought here!

D.E. Haggerty

Yesterday I was having coffee and carrot cake (yes, I was a bad girl and went off my diet) with a friend. I complained about a blog I had read that was just this long rant with no substance (and wasn’t funny to boot). Her response? But isn’t that one of the main forms of blogging – the long rant? Now, this friend doesn’t blog, but she is incredibly well-informed, intelligent, and reads blogs of others. Which means that I – unfortunately – have to take her comment seriously.

rant-2First of all, let me say that I don’t think there’s anything wrong with ranting per se. I love a good rant as much as the next person. And sometimes you need to blow off steam with a loud, uncontrolled outburst. But – keeping in mind that blog posts are on a public forum that never dies – is it a…

View original post 474 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

