Indifference Is The Enemy

A person lying prone on a busy sidewalk while others walk past without stopping.

(Image: Courtesy of Pixabay)

“The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference.”

~ Elie Wiesel

My previous post, What Price, Freedom? probed the meaning of freedom within the context of a free, democratic society. How is it that the world stood by and witnessed the Nazis deprive thousands of people their freedom, their human dignity, and their very lives? Elie Wiesel, a Holocaust survivor, encapsulated the explanation in a single word, indifference.

Wiesel (1928 – 2016) was a Romanian-born American Jewish writer, professor, political activist, Nobel Laureate and Holocaust survivor. He wrote 57 books, written mostly in French and English, including Night, a work based on his experiences as a prisoner in the Auschwitz and Buchenwald concentration camps.

I came upon this quote a few days ago, and I’ve been pondering the meaning ever since. As a high school History teacher, I taught my students about the Holocaust every semester, and I never became comfortable with this unit of human horror. Therefore, I’m listening to Wiesel’s words with my heart within this context. As I write these words, I am moved almost to tears.

He points out to us that indifference is the opposite or opposing position to love, art, faith, and life. I understand the dictionary definition of indifference as a lack of interest, or of concern, or of sympathy. We may also say that a state of indifference indicates that something is unimportant.

As I struggled with these concepts, I found these words by Anton Chekhov, the famous 19th Century Russian playwright, and author. “Indifference is a paralysis of the soul, a premature death.” His words are actually saying the same thing that Wiesel expressed almost a century later.

I believe the human soul is the spiritual dimension of a person. It is the seat of our unique identity. It is also the source of our life energy and the repository of our deeply-held beliefs and moral guidelines. Chekhov’s words “paralysis of the soul” is truly a premature death. That paralysis snuffs out my spiritual energy. It blinds my belief system and moral compass. I cease to be a person in the fullest sense of the word.

I cannot love anyone in this state of paralysis. I become not only the center of my universe but my entire universe. There is no room for anyone else. Others may be useful – or not, but certainly not loved because they are unimportant. This allows me to turn my back on someone who needs help, or someone who is suffering. Because they are unimportant, so is their plight.

Art, no matter the format of its expression, is the outer manifestation of the artist’s soul. We can see reflections of our own souls in the many mirrors of artistic expressions, be they paintings, music, poetry, plays, novels, sculptures, films – the list can go on. If I am indifferent, the art is meaningless, and I am not moved spiritually, emotionally or intellectually. I am dead to art and all it can teach me. It cannot nourish me.

Faith can be understood as trust or confidence in something or someone. How often have we heard people say that they don’t trust anyone, or they have deeply-seated trust issues? Betrayals can make me wary about trusting others. The presence of evil in the world can make me question my faith in God. If I am indifferent, faith is irrelevant. I trust no one and become totally self-reliant. I have closed myself to the possibility of trust or confidence in anything or anyone.

Wiesel’s final analogy concerns life. If I have stilled my soul, there is no life even though my body still functions. There is no empathy for the feelings of others, so as the image above illustrates, I can walk right past a person lying still on a sidewalk or roadway. I can shrug when I read about the horrors of the holocaust and perhaps even call it a hoax.

I believe there are degrees of indifference and that it is within all of us. How else do I explain the fact that we still see and allow the evils of intolerance, prejudice, and discrimination to flourish around us? Why do we nod sagely that this is just a normal reaction to fear? Why do we continue to laugh heartily at jokes that are racial slurs or attacks upon a gender – or worse yet, upon those who suffer from a physical, mental or emotional impairment? Indifference. It renders the human spirit paralyzed or dead, but indifference is very much alive and well!

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

16 thoughts on “Indifference Is The Enemy”

  1. I certainly love this piece. It has well brought out the issue of indifference. You will agree with me that it’s the main drive of close to all our operations. From the business systems, governments to the distribution of resources across the globe. A really informative and encouraging piece in deed.

    Like

  2. A powerful piece, John, and timely, indeed. I’m very much a passionate soul. I find it nearly impossible not to cry when I see others doing so, but I smile with gratitude for the happiness and joy of others. There’s tremendous beauty in that. I hope I never lose this. I struggle to understand how others can dismiss things so easily. Thanks for sharing this with us. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The opposite of indifference can also be seen as empathy. There is so much today that has hardened souls and made us callous to the plight of others rather than empathetic. If we open ourselves to empathy, we can do away with indifference.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Whoever said it originally, JFK’s quote, ‘the only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men should do nothing’, stands shoulder to shoulder with Wiesel’s words. Indifference and complacency is the undermining social malaise of the civilised world and everyone should strive not to fall into the habit of doing or saying something about acts and behaviour we know to be wrong. Or, to put a more positive slant on things, to voice or show delight in all that is good and uplifts us.
    Passion is the opposite of indifference too – we shouldn’t be afraid of expressing our own, for fear of appearing to be ‘uncool’. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is controversy around the origin of that quote used by JFK. It was attributed to the great British parliamentarian Edmund Burke, but others suggest it was Charles Frederic Aked, who was a prominent preacher and lecturer who moved from England to America. Regardless, the quote fits and I thank you for your observations, Jan. Food for thought!

      Like

  5. I am reminded of a time in history when the leader of the USA was paralyzed. The worry of polio seemed to paralyze the whole population. Indifference was rampant & the results are well documented.

    Like

    1. Indeed, one of my closest friends growing up had been struck by polio as a young child. I also recall that era in the mid-1950s that we kids were inoculated at school for polio and a host of other obnoxious things. Thanks for your comment, Teresa!

      Like

  6. JOHN,
    I Love this blog. I have always been against indifference – people who say I could not care less or don’t care. I think we need to be one way or another – not in the middle. Paralysis of the soul – I love it.
    Lots to think about in everything.

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

