Morning has broken, like the first morning. Sod the Blackbirds.

Ian Hutson lives a fascinating lifestyle on the canal system in England in his long, narrow boat pictured here.

The Diesel-Electric Elephant Company, England.

P1080490

Yesterday I moved my boat out of the marina and onto the canals proper. With the assistance of yonder The Bro, I moved up through the lock and a couple of hundred yards along. That is plenty for the moment, thank you, until I know more of my apex from my fundament. I haven’t splice anything yet, and I don’t even know where my yard-arm is. A few days here and then I’ll move on. These moorings are more usually 48-hours only, but until the end of the month we are in CaRT’s “winter season” when most (including these!) are kindly extended to 14 days for the use of, weather etc notwithstanding. I’m notwithstanding at the moment, I am sitting down, typing this on my mobile wifi.

I am pleased to report that both boat and I awoke this morning, still moored in the same place and both facing…

View original post 481 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

4 thoughts on “Morning has broken, like the first morning. Sod the Blackbirds.”

    1. I just love your sense of humour, Ian! Over here in Canada, we’d say “shine a flashlight on the solar panels…” but I got it! We’re getting ready for a snowfall that might give us up to 20 cm (8 inches) today. Wanna trade?

      Like

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

