A bridge not too far, but quite far enough (while on foot)

This latest post by my favourite Salty Old Sea Dog, Ian Hutson, takes us on a photo tour of a bridge spanning a canal he must navigate – quite entertaining!

The Diesel-Electric Elephant Company, England.

1P1080505 Bridge 102, Shropshire Union Canal (right way up)

“On foot” is such a peculiar phrase. I rarely restrict myself to just using the one to get about. I know that two is probably an indulgence but, well, whenever I’ve tried hopping folk tell me that I just bring to mind an elderly kangaroo that has just stepped on a Lego brick, and that’s no good to anybody, is it?

Talking of any body, my magnificent body – and I know that you won’t believe this – is actually made up from spare parts that my parents found or bought. My legs, for instance, are an almost-matched set from a house-clearance auction in Mablethorpe, the left one apparently the kind legacy to the late home-owner of a steeplechase jockey who snuffed it in a bar-brawl in the early fifties, and the right leg an unused spare that was carried around…

View original post 924 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

