Do you have a minute? Sorry for the Inconvenience.

Madelyn Griffith-Haynie invites us to consider the place of empathy in our lives by allowing us to relive with her a traumatic experience in her past. It is moving and uplifting – and the first of three parts. Let us consider her truth – together.

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

Tough Love Lessons
from an Empathy Deficit Society

© Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
from the Walking a Mile Series – Part I

“There, but for the grace of God, go I”

Not my problem, not my business?

Our society seems to be rapidly moving to a state where it is empathy-averse. The next few posts are my attempt at trying to change that sad reality in some small fashion by telling my personal story. It is time

Found HEREFound HERE

Many who are still able to care what happens to others take the “wait and see” approach, hoping perhaps that some of the problems will resolve without their involvement.

I have noticed it most overtly in response to current political actions of late, but I have always seen it most pervasively in the continuing lack of Mental Health Awareness.

That attitude troubles me greatly.  We need each…

View original post 2,268 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

5 thoughts on “Do you have a minute? Sorry for the Inconvenience.”

  1. You are a doll to reblog this post, John – as well as to warn people that it is the first of three parts. 🙂 My personal belief is that teachers make up one of the most empathetic communities on the planet, and I am grateful to each and every one of you underpaid and under-supported warriors in the battle to raise an educated populace.

    I join you in a prayer that, now that you are retired, your joint business venture with your wife will be as successful as your marriage (if my math is correct, 44 years together is IMPRESSIVE – congratulations to you both!). Your Heart of Teaching is now on my long and growing BTR list.
    xx,
    mgh

    Like

      1. Everyone I’ve ever known who has lived in a marriage for any length of time has said that his or her partner is a saint! All but one, that is.

        My friend Lianne, who married her HS sweetheart shortly after they both graduated college (where I met them) said, only half in jest “Do you have any idea how much pressure it is to be everybody’s example of a successful marriage?!” 🙂
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

