Thank you Betty Lavington from Sally aged seventeen – A drama Queen

Who made your dreams come true? Sally Cronin gifts us today with a heart-warming story about her youth and the lady who made Sally’s dream come true! Please, read on…

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

My two sisters who were ten and eleven years old both left school and trained as secretaries.  My eldest sister became PA in Malta to the Surgeon Rear Admiral at 18 when my father was posted there so immediately put her skills to great use.  My other sister on arrival in Cape Town was photographed for the front cover of the Cape Argus as a newcomer to the Cape and ended up working on the paper for two years.  So obviously secretarial training led to them having some very interesting and high level jobs over the years.

However, madam, decided at a very early age that she wanted to be a singer and actress! It was all my mother’s fault really.  Apart from the fact that she had rather the flair for the dramatic all her life, she manipulated me into being her co-conspirator every Saturday afternoon.

My father loved…

View original post 982 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

