The terrifying 22 minute solo voyage of Captain Bean

Don’t miss this totally entertaining voyage by our intrepid Captain Bean along his favourite English canal in his good ship The Cardinal. Please read on…

The Diesel-Electric Elephant Company, England.

The thing about boats is, they want to move. They want mostly to move away. Even your gen-yew-ine boat du boats, the Cardinal, takes off at the first opportunity like a machine on a lonesome mission. In spite of my cabbage-green state of dis-experience even I am aware that it is imperative to at all times be in full and sound possession of a piece of stout, hairy string tied to the boat, to prevent its straying too far and to facilitate recall.

Boats don’t answer to whistles, I’ve tried that, and nor do they answer to tearful entreaties from the towpath expressed in English, Latin, French or Anglo-Saxon. They answer only to stout bits of hairy string.

1P1080934 Snoozing again.

This morning I awoke to discover a very dull, drizzly day but a day with little to no wind. Hithertofore, Hutson has moved in the welcome company of…

View original post 954 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

2 thoughts on “The terrifying 22 minute solo voyage of Captain Bean”

  1. As happens so often, a dull grey and damp day has morphed into a sunny evening, and the breeze that had sprung up has disappeared. Birds are twittering and the dog-walkers are out in force (I’ve seen two…) 😉 I saw what I think was a Great Crested Grebe earlier – a large bird, heavy body low in the water, long thin neck. It dived rather than flew away when it saw me, and only surfaced again after about ten metres – long enough under water for me to get worried on its behalf!

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

