How to hook a blog reader #MondayBlogs #AmWriting #AmBlogging

D.E. Haggerty proposes some ways to “hook” blog readers. The title hooked me today, how about you? Please read on…

D.E. Haggerty

hook 3Writers love to discuss the ‘hook’. Should you try to hook a reader immediately or have faith in the reader and slowly grab them? Although these discussions center around novels, the hook discussion can – and should be! – applied to blogs and hooking blog readers. In some ways, finding readers for your blog posts is more difficult than for your novels. Before you start calling me crazy and throwing sh*t, let me explain.

When someone buys, or considers buying, a book, they know that they’re going to have to put at least a few hours into reading it. That’s not even remotely true for blog readers. Everyone is busy, busy, busy. Reading and following blogs has to fit in between all the two-hundred other things a person needs to do in a day. Bloggers need to hook a reader quickly before they scroll onto the next blog. But how?…

View original post 389 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

10 thoughts on “How to hook a blog reader #MondayBlogs #AmWriting #AmBlogging”

  1. Knowing absolutely nothing about blogging when I started, and not experiencing any real success on my original site http://www.fiorabooks.com, I decided to set up the new site “Words To Captivate” exclusively for blogging. My good friend, John W. Howell, gave me some sage advice about building a following and so far it is working. No, I don’t intend to become a blogger for profit. I want to write books. My only frustration is that the blogging is taking up most of my time. Thank you so much for the “Senior Salon” tip – that’s all new to me. I don’t understand pingbacks either! I’ll give that a try this week. Hugs!

    Like

  2. I read it, but it was not for me.

    I LOVE longer posts – meals vs. appetizers. I don’t need to be “hooked” — if a blogger has intrigued me in the past, I’ll check out his or her other posts as often as time permits – I note the name of the blogger more than the title of the post. And if a new blogger “hooks” me and the article is little more than a quick take on the topic once I’m there I probably won’t read them again.

    As I said in a comment under the post itself, different strokes . . .
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear you, Madelyn. Sometimes I think I should opt for shorter posts instead of longer ones. Yet, I agree, meals are better than appetizers. However, I think it would be ideal if a blogger wrote a terrific post with an effective hook. It would pull a reader in and that reader would likely not be disappointed. That’s important to hook new readers. As you say, loyal readers don’t need a hook beyond your name. Thanks for sharing your insights here, Madelyn!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hooks are great – but I don’t think they’re worth agonizing over. I’d rather see the creativity go into the post. Those hashtags that are becoming popular are anti-hooks for me, in any case. ‘Sup with those anyway?

        Not to worry about your shorter posts, btw – you are already on my list of interesting bloggers.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

          1. I loved your think pieces best. And with your history background, comparing past and present would be a natural for you.

            Then again, Sally’s Smorgasbord approach has served her well, so maybe there’s no rush to “specialize” at all. Mix it up. As long as you are enjoying the process, how can it be anything but great!
            xx,
            mgh

            Like

            1. Thank you! I started with reflections based on inspirational quotes that I found. That series of blogs is called “My Inspiration”. Three weeks ago I started the “Let’s Talk!” series hoping that it might catch on. I wanted to tackle controversial issues to provoke meaningful discussion. The “Believe It Or Not” daily series reflects my interest in History. Not sure I’m satisfied with it.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. You might be a tad picky where your history posts are concerned, kinda’ like me and the brain. The more we know, the more we want to share, and the less satisfied we tend to be unless they are JUST right!

                How long have you been blogging? I blogged for over 3 years before anything much at all caught on – during which time I wondered why I bothered at all. Only recently do I seem to be attracting much of a “following” that likes and comments.
                xx,
                mgh

                Like

                1. I started blogging in March of 2014, but didn’t get serious until this past February. I created a new website and started out with 1 follower. After 2.5 months of focused effort, I have almost 90 followers. Not all are “real followers” but I hope that will come with time.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. It will – just more time than you want it to take, unless you have one of those rare freak successes or go over to the marketing dark side lol!

                    You are already a presence on other blogs; sticking to their own turf is the big mistake most newish bloggers make.

                    Next time you see one of my posts with the little couch graphic at the end, click over on the words below, “Senior Salon,” and add a link to a post or two — as you can read for yourself, Bernadette is open to “walk-ins.”

                    She sets up a new Salon every Wed. at around 1AM Eastern (NYC time) and you can add links all day and click on links much longer than that.

                    I have been getting around to all the posts each week so far – not everyone does that, but many DO. I have met some very interesting bloggers that way – I follow some now, some now follow me – and have gotten a bit of interest from my comments. You will too.
                    xx,
                    mgh

                    PS. Don’t bother clicking to the “instructions” — they are mostly for hosts. Just click the add a link on the page after you “click the frog,” copy it in where indicated, then click “blog” as the source of the graphic to post with it, and the title will pop in by itself. If I can do it, ANYONE can! 🙂

                    Like

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

