North is upside down, two dogs, and one of the Cardinal’s nuts fell off.

I am compelled to share this totally entertaining and creatively written report about Ian Hutson’s life on his canal boat “Cardinal”. Please, give yourself a Wednesday smile and read on…

The Diesel-Electric Elephant Company, England.

1P1080927 It’s finally happened. The Earth’s magnetic core has flipped.

Yesterday was an interesting day. Updown-side compasses notwithstanding, I have populated this blog with photographs of flowers from a place called “Gunby Hall”. Everyone needs some Spring in their lives, and flowers mean Spring just as surely as Beanz Meanz Heinz. My favourite flowers vary from moment to moment, but regular contenders include pansies, lobelia, buttercups, dandelions, daffydils, mushrooms and the quintessentially English potted amorphophallus titanum. As large flowers go I quite like Oak trees, although the ruddy Chestnut also has a place in my heart.

I know why the compass is upside down. Each morning, following the letter of Admiralty standing orders, I take a reading to ensure that no-one has turned the Cardinal around overnight, and I generally also call for the lead, if you please, to ensure that none of the water below us has been nicked. Yesterday…

View original post 923 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

2 thoughts on “North is upside down, two dogs, and one of the Cardinal’s nuts fell off.”

  1. It’s been a while since I was last in the engine room, I suppose that it had to happen at some time. At least yesterday was dry, and I was not compelled to move – best time to find a problem! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

