68 hooks and a constant reminder of Dame Julie Andrews – Guest Post by Ian Hutson…

Ian Hutson via Chris The Story Reading Ape regales us with the saga of a close inspection of a fourth kind aboard his lovely canal boat, The Cardinal! This story is not to be missed! Please, read on…

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

Writers should be banned from living on boats (because they won’t stop wobbling on about it)! Let me wobble on some more.

I love my boat. I loved it right from the start. However, like most of the loves of my life, I soon realised that it could benefit from a visit to a barber’s shop, the devotions of a decent tailor and some sort of obedience training.

Chief among the items screaming for attention was the boat’s name, “Moorea”. Doubtless the previous owners loved it. I did not. Mo’orea is a South Pacific island, part of French Polynesia’s Society Islands archipelago. It is known for its hairy turtle-crabs that crawl up the beach and lay fried-eggs sideways in the tops of palm trees once a century, or something. Anyway, someone had not only hand-painted Moorea on both sides of my beloved boat but had also added some smudges that…

View original post 1,583 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

4 thoughts on “68 hooks and a constant reminder of Dame Julie Andrews – Guest Post by Ian Hutson…”

  1. Thank’ee kindly for reblogging! Much appreciated. I spent a part of today moving the Cardinal along this stretch of the canal, promptly had a mechanical problem (which I’ll blog about as soon as I release steam pressure) and am now all of a quarter of a mile farther along (instead of a planned 3 to 9 miles)! Minor repairs to the engine oil-pressure sensor in the offing – it was a brand new mount, fitted last year, and parted company almost the moment I moved off today – the joys of boating. Actually, I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

