New nuts, new bolts, old-fashioned biscuits

My favourite Skipper, Ian Hutson had me rolling in the aisle with this descriptive edition of life on an English canal. Get ready to enjoy! Please, read on…

The Diesel-Electric Elephant Company, England.

1P1090048

A short trip to the nice chaps at Aqueduct Marina to acquire bolts of various sizes, some of those peculiar nuts with the nylon inserts – the ones that rarely if ever come undone – and a packet or two of biscuits, combined with an arrival of the Bro bearing the fabrications of a new mount for the oil-pressure sensor and there we were. There I was, back in the engine bay. Grunting. Wheezing. Creaking.

Grunting. Wheezing. Creaking. Sounds like a firm of solicitors with wood-panelled offices in some market town, staffed with dusty clerks with ink-pens. Grunting Wheezing & Creaking (Deceased), Solicitors & Swearers of Oaths by Royal Appointment. Open whenever the local inn is not.

I am out of practice with being back where I was, in the engine bay. DIY is fun enough when performed on dry land, but on a boat DIY is, by tradition, performed upside down…

View original post 1,016 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

2 thoughts on “New nuts, new bolts, old-fashioned biscuits”

  1. My bones are still aching from yesterday’s (seriously minor, in reality) exertions, I really must spend more time in the gym. Um, I mean the engine bay, must spend more time exercising in the engine bay. Honestly, I’d be very, very happy if I didn’t have cause to re-bolt and re-nut anything down there for a long while. Some of the positions I had to get into just to get my hands and eyes in the right place – sheesh! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

