Do YOU have the Sense of a Goose?

Madelyn Griffith-Haynie gifts us with a poem called The Goose Story. After the poem, we are given a valuable lesson in living. Please, don’t miss this and read on…

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

© Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
Reflections: edited reposting

Click HERE for Part One: ABOUT Values and the Goose Story

A wonderful model for living

In 1994 I founded The Optimal Functioning Institute™ – the company that presented the world’s first comprehensive ADD-specific coaching curriculum, and the only one for many years (OFI’s certification compliant A.C.T.), a curriculum I developed and delivered personally for years.

OFI was founded according to the principles that Dr. Harry Clarke Noyes articulates in The Goose Story, an extremely short free-verse poem (below) about the importance of community.

For well over a decade it was featured prominently on my first website, ADDCoach.com, built to focus on promoting the existence of ADD Coaching and the importance of brain-based, ADD-specific, Coach Training — and one of the first ADD sites on the web.

I first shared it here on ADDandSoMuchMORE.com in 2011

View original post 893 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

6 thoughts on “Do YOU have the Sense of a Goose?”

  1. I spent the day reading Gone Girl for my book club meeting tonight, only to find out in the hour before that the meeting had been postponed due to the ill health of the hostess (to a day I will be out of town, unless I get them to push it back again). Good thing I really enjoyed the book, huh?

    Anyway, I’m back to reading online, and approving comments left while I was “missing” and came across your reblog as I worked my way down the comment notification list. THANK YOU! I’m thrilled you found this worth sharing.
    xx,
    mgh

    Like

      1. Thanks, John – I was astonished the first time I became aware of so many things I never knew about geese. Did you know that they mate for life? How sad that they are shot out of the sky for sport. Human’s are a cruel species.

        I’m sorry our meeting was cancelled too, after spending hours in last-minute reading to make sure I could participate fully. The last book was not to my liking, even though the rest of the universe seemed to have adored it, so I was relieved to be ready to come in with a positive take – even though reading it ate many of my hours of my day today.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

        1. No, I knew nothing about geese before today – and I didn’t know they mated for life. Funny you should make the statement about human cruelty on this day as the world remembers the Holocaust. I try not to let the Dark Side of human behavior overwhelm and obliterate the goodness and nobility of the human soul. Both are part of the story and both must be remembered. I agree that hunting and killing live beings for sport is unconscionable. Be well, dear.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I am making it a point to seek out the “good news” stories as well – especially these days – but I believe it is important to remember history’s cruelties, lest we repeat them.

            Tink and I are off to bed shortly – early for us, but I’m bushed. Have a wonderful rest of the day & sweet dreams to you when you lay down to sleep.
            xx,
            mgh

            Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

