Two locks, half a tank of water, one canoe, an Irishman and a wasp

My favorite canal Skipper, Ian Hutson, entertains and educates we mere mortals with another yarn of hair-raising shenanigans navigating the English canals in a narrowboat. Please read on and enjoy…

The Diesel-Electric Elephant Company, England.

…all walk into a bar.

No, but seriously. The Cardinal and I went boatering again yesterday. In roughly four hours, on what ought to have been a quiet Sunday morning we went through two locks single-handed all by mineself (fires into the air and asks a passing dog-walker and dog to ululate), we (I) dumped/recycled my Dana (1970) rubbish (all kinds of everthing), managed half a tank of water and then slipped with all of the grace of a tap-dancing duck into a roadside mooring six and a half miles of canal later (the half is really, really important – like a pre-teenager’s age).

At the end I was too knackered to tie the ropes properly, so I left my feet on the towpath, leant across the water-gap to the Cardinal, gripped the bow t-stud in my teeth and went to sleep.

1P1090157 Looks idyllic until I tell you that the…

View original post 1,441 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

2 thoughts on “Two locks, half a tank of water, one canoe, an Irishman and a wasp”

  1. The breeze of yesterday has turned into the wind of today – I may be following a zig-zag course when moving tomorrow! May have to find moorings that I will be blown onto rather than the ones I’d necessarily prefer!

    Liked by 2 people

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

