DRIFTER

Reaper has gifted us with a poetic journey into the world of powerful feelings that can leave one almost totally spent. Thanks to Dewin Nefol and the GallyBloggers site. Please, treat yourself and read on…

~ GallyBloggers ~

Drift

~ Drifter ~ By ~ Reaper

~*~

Climbing veins lacing sky-scraping arches

Fanning flaring delicate architectural branches

Flourishing fashionable rose stained glasses

Scattered shattered amidst ruined circumstances.

~

Once exciting still enticing still drawing my eye

Upward through shadow to her cobalt sky

Reaching far beyond her deepening sigh

To a wandering Star heralding on nigh’

~

Patiently waiting silently praying for a whisper

One word one touch one loving sweet whimper

One kiss one embrace for a lonesome drifter

One tender push more along life’s endless river.

~

Pacing as a panther padding dark hallowed ground

Every sense alert for word from the profound

For my prayer to be heard for my heart to be bound

For Her passage to open, for my paradise found.

~

Stilled stayed motionless breathless entranced

Distilled free-willed, if only She chanced

One moment to tender the embers in my heart

To share her Love tear my pain apart.

~

Paused delayed dismayed by Love’s absent ways,

I abandon my…

View original post 218 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

6 thoughts on “DRIFTER”

  1. Hey John,

    Our apologies for a late response to your very generous, kind and warm gesture re-blogging Reaper’s poem. Our time over the past few days has been difficult to manage. We have left the following comment as our response on Gallybloggers.

    Thank you from me and all at Raven’s 12.

    Namaste 🙂

    DN and Raven’s 12

    Hey John,

    It’s wonderful to see you back here at Gallybloggers again our friend…it seems you have a regular pitch in our field. I trust you will be made to feel welcome.

    Thank you for kind words and generosity in your appreciation of Reaper’s poem. They will be delighted their words elicited emotion and inspired reflection. More transient than the rest of Raven’s 12, Reaper does not venture into town very often preferring life on the edges of the city well away from the crowded life of hustle and bustle. I met Reaper more by chance than by planning or introduction when I took a new route home and met them in a local park. Very hesitant at first to participate, they relented and agreed to write their thoughts. I am so very pleased that they did. We also thought this a powerfully stirring piece, poignant with emotion and feeling, and reflective of the range of powerful emotions often prevailing in the minds of those experiencing Homelessness. There is always hope, there is always freedom, but the Love so desired is often imagined, sometimes to point where it becomes ‘real’ by way of faith, desire and need. Homelessness is a roller-coaster of emotion, life always on the edge of existence spent waiting for help and support or spent waiting for the one night from which one will never wake. Life is very black or white.

    We are most grateful for your continued support and enthusiasm for our work here John, and really do appreciate all the help you are offering. The re-blog of Small Drama was very generous, and re-blogging Reaper’s poem leaves us deeply thankful and warmly inspired! Thank you so very much for supporting Raven’s 12 once more John. It really is very much appreciated.

    Hoping all is well and life finds you blessed with happiness, health, and good fortune. Take care good friend.

    Namaste 🙂

    DN and Raven’s 12

    Like

    1. You and the Raven’s 12 are welcome! I feel like the winner here – having my website graced with the poems published on Galleybloggers. I hope that any of my followers who follow the links to Galleybloggers will share in turn. You are doing a marvelous thing here. I love your poetry – I call them Sagas because they tell a story. Have you thought about writing one that tells the stories of the Raven’s 12? Be well, my friends!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey John,

        Well now, what words have I to respond on behalf of Raven’s 12 to such kindness and sincerity other than declaring heartfelt gratitude and reaffirming our thanks for your generous support and kindness of manner. Thank you so very much…we are a little overwhelmed 🙂

        It would indeed be wonderful to have others share and re-blog our humble poems and saga’s (love that word!) and help raise awareness of Homelessness so that it remains an issue keenly needing addressing. Gallybloggers aims to present another side of the stereotypical image of a Homeless person and found opportunity to do so in sharing a love of words. Their poetry is deeply moving, their words born from upset, despair and suffering, and yet deep within them remains Hope, Love, and a generosity of spirit that belies their ill-kept visage and begging. Those that I have met are truly wonderful people and amazing characters, individuals who are buried inside their own quiet thoughts but not so deeply so as not to have a way back should opportunity permit itself. We hoped they’d find that opportunity when reaching for words and unburdening themselves of feelings. When I share with them people’s comments and see a real smile appear it brings tears to my eyes every time. I know some of them don’t think Gallybloggers is at all real, that it is something so far removed from their daily existence that it all appears to be just a dream. This becomes apparent when I convey people’s comments and praise and initially sense their disbelief at being so kindly regarded….far too many have spent far too long never being extended any sort of positive reaction to the person they are sat behind the begging bowl. It is a wonderful moment to share the truth with them and see happiness flash across dull tired eyes and curve the edges of a smile. That is reward enough for Raven’s 12 to persist with Gallybloggers.

        A poem telling the stories of Raven’s 12? Hmm, now there’s a possibility as yet not considered, and an opportunity for me to participate a little more as well perhaps at Gallybloggers. I shall tuck the idea on the backburner and keep it gently simmering…it intrigues me as a thought, thank you for the suggestion.

        We shall do our best to all remain well and wish the same for you all over there slowly toasting in the Canadian sunshine (we hope!) whilst woeful Woden wreaks havoc with wet weather here in Wales. Soggy is not the word, drowning would be far better…I’m either going to go build a raft or make quick passage to Chris the Story-Reading Ape’s location and borrow the Cardinal for a day or two until dry land appears. Do you think he’d mind? lol 🙂

        Take care my friend. Sincere thanks once again. Best wishes for the remainder of the week!

        Namaste 🙂

        DN and Raven’s 12

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m glad you like the suggestion. I think you’re the perfect person to write it as a story or as 12 stories. Yes, seeking refuge in The Cardinal is a good thought. WE had cold, wet weather here until today – warm winds from Texas swept up here and gave us a day of summer. Be well – all of you!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Hey John,

            You are very kind to suggest I have the capacity for such an undertaking…a huge project though it is…and will pay it careful consideration. It would be a privilege to embark on a path walking that particular road and bring to the fore more readily individual stories. I am quite certain it will necessitate embracing a plethora of emotions and on occasion no doubt building bridges to cross chasms of unholy darkness. Your confidence in my ability to negotiate that ride is most encouraging, thank you John, I appreciate the affirmation of my perceived strength. I shall do some investigating amongst Raven’s 12 and make some initial enquiries. There is one Gallyblogger I know who may wish to present the story of their life…an individual now in their 31st year of living Homeless, and someone who has travelled many miles throughout the UK. It would make for a fascinating read. Thank you again for the suggestion.

            I am pleased to hear of warming weather and warmer winds adding sparkle to life and colour to grey slate skies and spilling clouds. There is nothing better than sunshine on a rainy day to chase the blues away. Thankfully Wales had a blast of sun today: a small promise perhaps of a dry weekend. If so I’m heading for the hills seeking opportunity to enjoy a few hours buried deeply within Nature’s sumptuous vibrancy.

            If you have plans for the weekend my friend, I trust they will all materialise as hoped. Take care of you, and of one and all, and best wishes with the writing 🙂

            Namaste 🙂

            DN and Raven’s 12

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Although we’ve never met in person, Dewin, you strike me as a strong individual and I am confident in your writing skills. You also have the empathy needed for such a task. It would be a formidable task, but it could have a phenomenal impact among the “uneducated” among us. Thanks, and I hope you enjoy your weekend too.

              Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

