John W. Howell – A Tribute

Today is the birthday of author John W. Howell. What follows is a tribute to a man who is greatly loved and admired by his many friends.

Author picture of John W. Howell

It is May 22nd – Happy Birthday, John!

I have known John for almost three years and I can’t think of another friend that commands my respect like this man does. I met him online through Rave Reviews Book Club not long after I joined in July of 2014. Not only was I new to the club, but I was also totally inept in using Twitter which is the social medium of choice there. It was John who took pity on me and began to give me informal lessons to master “Twitterese” – a bastardized form of English. I learned – after a fashion.

Not long after I assumed the position of Producer of the club’s Rave Waves BlogTalkRadio shows, John joined us as a host of the SPOTLIGHT HONORS show. It turned out that John is a natural behind the mike after spending some time in his youth spinning records for a radio station. As we worked together, my respect and admiration for John grew. No matter what I asked of him, he stepped up and did an admirable job. Before long, he was also co-hosting the ASPIRE TO INSPIRE show with me and Gwen Plano. Then I decided to create a new show to showcase new members each month and John agreed to co-host with me on TAG TEAM 2-4-5. Eventually, John took over the scripting of that show and became its driving force. He is a joy to listen to and he has a knack for putting his guests at ease so they can make the most of their interview. He’s both generous and gifted.

No, I’m not done yet! John is a terrific author of thriller novels. His John Cannon trilogy, set in Port Aransas, Texas (where John lives), are wonderful reads that are hard to put down. If you haven’t read hisย books yet, I urge you to do so. I have provided the purchase links below. He takes his writing very seriously and strives to write 1,000 words per day… I wish I could match that!

John is also a prolific blogger on his website Fiction Favorites. He posts to a different series of blogs each day of the week, Sunday through Saturday, without fail. Fiction Favorites is popular with authors and readers alike because he brings his faithful followers a good dose of humor in most of his posts. I know that every day when I trek to visit his site, I’ll leave with a great big grin on my face. That is a cherished gift.

Not only is John multi-talented, but he is generous in his support for others. He works tirelessly to support other authors both within Rave Reviewsย Book Clubย and outside of it. Fortunately, I have been the beneficiary of his kindness on many occasions. So on this day, I thank God for bringing John W. Howell into my life as a friend and a mentor.

Here are the John Cannon novels. Just click on the book covers and they will take you to the Amazon pages where you can find out more about these exciting books!

Cover for My Grl - Book One
Book One

John J. Cannon, a successful San Francisco lawyer, takes a leave of absence from the firm and buys a boat he names My GRL. John is unaware his boat has been targeted by a terrorist group to be used to blow up the Annapolis Midshipmen on their summer cruise. John’s first inkling of trouble is when he wakes up in the hospital and learns he was found unconscious next to the body of the young woman who sold him the boat in the first place. John now is the only one standing between the terrorists and the success of their mission.

Cover of His Revenge - Book Two
Book Two

America loves John Cannon, its newest hero, and the President wants to present him with the highest civilian medal for bravery for saving the Annapolis midshipman from a terrorist plot to destroy them. While in Washington for the award ceremony, John unwillingly becomes an accomplice in another plan by the same group to attack the credibility of the US President and the stability of the worldwide oil market. There is no way out as John either becomes a traitor to America or causes thousands of innocent people to die if he refuses.
The second John J Cannon Thriller moves from a barrier Island off the coast of Texas to Washington DC, then to Northern California, and finally to Ecuador. John is on the receiving end of an offer he cannot refuse. His avowed enemy Matt Jacobs now wants John to help him shake the reputation of the US in the world political arena. If John refuses, Matt plans to murder innocent Americans including John’s latest relationship. John’s only way out is to pretend to go along with the plan and hope for a miracle.

Cover of Our Justice - Book Three
Book Three

The terrorist leader and financier Matt Jacobs figured out a plan to eliminate the President. He is relying on John Cannon’s stature as a hero to help him carry it off. John finds himself walking the fine line of pretending to help Matt while trying to figure out a countermeasure to the plan.
The third book in the John J. Cannon Trilogy brings together two strong wills for a showdown. The question to be answered is who will feel the satisfaction that the achievement of justice delivers? John, Matt or neither?

Join with me and wish John a Happy Birthday!

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

51 thoughts on “John W. Howell – A Tribute”

  1. I’m mortified that I’m so late to this birthday party… especially with two of my favorite guys in one post!
    Terrific post, John F — so many interesting, personal details. I didn’t know all the radio stuff about John H. But I can easily imagine that he’s a natural. Hugs all around!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you made it, Teagan – just in time to make me blush! Thank you for your kind words. Yes, Our John Howell is quite the Internet Radio personality with his three RAVE WAVES shows. That’s a lot of prep time on top of everything else he does. Hugs right back atcha!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Anniversary, John!
    As I love action/thriller stories I am heading to the amazon page right away.
    Best of luck with your writing!
    Carmen

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on TINA FRISCO and commented:
    John Fioravanti writes an outstanding tribute to John Howell on the occasion of his birthday. I’m sure I speak for all in our blogging community in wishing John a very Happy Birthday and many more to come โค

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Such a wonderful tribute, John! This brought an instant smile, as you both are outstanding people that I’ve come to admire deeply. The very fact that this lovely post comes as no surprise cements that belief.
    Happiest birthday wishes, John! Hope you enjoy a beautiful day.
    Cheers to you both! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. John Number 2, Your tribute to John Number 1 on his birthday is spectacular. You definitely covered the many things he has done for the RRBC and what he has done as an established author. So great for you to share and honor him on his special day. Mind-blowing accomplishments!
    Thank you from another RRBC Member.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Couldn’t agree more, John.

    John’s fiction is entertaining, his blog posts are a delight (7 days a week), and as a guest on two of his radio shows, I can personally attest that he sets people at ease and runs the shows efficiently. Most of all, though, it’s not his professionalism or his humor that most impress me. It’s his personality. The man is a gentleman and a scholar. He’s always been kind and helpful, and it’s an honor to know him.

    What a great tribute you wrote to a great man.

    Liked by 4 people

  7. An awesome blog post in honor of John. He’s definitely a great guy and a supportive member of RRBC. I love his daily blog posts and wonderful sense of humor. Well done, John F and Happy Birthday to John H ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  8. What a gracious and joyous tribute, John! I am going to tweet your blog to the twitter world (and mention on Facebook). Have a fantastic day! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

