If I should die . . .

Madelyn Griffith-Haynie has gifted us with a lighter look into the reality of ADD – both humorous and instructive. Please, read on…

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

For The Second Time Around

© Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
Reflections post in the Whimsy Series

Found HERE

Six years ago now, I reblogged my own humorous article from a posting on the personal blog I maintained on a now defunct ADD site.  Here ’tis again, this time in it’s entirety, with just a few edits.

I hope it gives new readers a giggle as you get an up-close-and-personal look into the quirky way the ADD mind tends to work.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You know the prayer:

Found HERE

Now I lay me down to sleep.
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
If I should die before I wake
I pray the Lord my soul to take.

Even I know the prayer, though I was not raised in a particularly religious household as I remember – which is always an iffy thing since I am the…

View original post 2,090 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

29 thoughts on “If I should die . . .”

  1. I’m still laughing here in Australia. Both my daughter and my grandson have ADD. It’s never boring around here! A great post. Thanks so much for sharing it, John. Bravo, Madelyn.

    Liked by 2 people

              1. It’s okay, John. I distracted her with a torch! Sparkling anythings gain her focus. Only causes problems on clear moonless nights when the stars are blazing. lol … then she just spends the entire night gazing skyward.😱

                Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks so much for reblogging, John. My ADD buddies find stories like this hilarious since they can personally relate.

    I will be interested in seeing how “ADD-free” readers respond (i.e., not those who live with an ADDer — they tend to relate from the frustration perspective and often can’t see the humor.)

    JUST got my i-net connection working again, btw – went down earlier today so couldn’t express my appreciation ’til now.
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 2 people

          1. Two excellent questions, John!

            #1- Family and partner coaching is part of what I DO, John – and I wish more people would walk in my metaphorical door so I could do it for them!

            #2- Not really – and sometimes it’s much more difficult for two main reasons:

            a – not great to duplicate deficits — aka *somebody* has to keep the lights on!

            b – ADD is a continuum disorder with a lot of pieces to its puzzle — not unlike poor like eyesight. Just because one person can or cannot see the [metaphorical] 5th line on the chart does NOT mean the other will have a similar ability or disability. Yet BOTH might have the same dx: “nearsighted” for example.

            Makes NO sense to quibble over degrees of impairment OR to expect behavior that is unlikely or impossible from a mate simply because you have the same diagnosis and think you *know* what’s going on with them.

            Maybe – but probably not unless you “listen from belief” (maybe I need to repost or expand on an earlier article that describes that concept)
            xx,
            mgh

            Liked by 1 person

              1. You’re welcome, John. I’m thrilled you asked and happy to answer. As I always told my students, the only dumb question is the one you DON’T ask.

                Have been out much of the nite to get into an air conditioned space, waiting for my apt. to cool a few degrees, so I’m on my way to check out the comments you mentioned. THANKS!
                xx,
                mgh

                Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

