Sleep Awareness and Health

Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC has provided us with a valuable and informative post about the critical importance of sleep in our daily living. Be sure to view the video at the end of this post. Please, read on…

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

The importance of  Sleep
to health, cognition and longevity

© Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
from the Sleep & Sleep Disorders Series

Sleep and Sleep Disorders

My Pinterest Board: Sleep, Sleep Disorders & EFD

A quick gander at June’s Awareness Calendar tells you that the  first week in June is Sleep Disorders Awareness Week.

I have already written a great deal about sleep and sleep disorders, but I couldn’t let the month pass without adding an Awareness post to that Series.

According NSART, the National Sleep Awareness Roundtable, promoting the awareness of the importance of sleep is an extremely worthwhile endeavor.

About SLEEP

NOT the passive state once believed, sleep is a highly active state essential for both physical health and BRAIN health.

Although we all do it, few of us know very much about it – and fewer still make sure we get enough of it…

View original post 1,737 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

15 thoughts on “Sleep Awareness and Health”

      1. Oh John, that’s dreadful! Are you getting up at night to go to the bathroom? If so, don’t turn on lights if you expect to get back to sleep – and avoid exposure to LEDs and those newfangled energy-saving bulbs after sunset. LOUSY for sleep.

        You want a nice red or yellow toned incandescent nitelite to guide your way there and back.

        You have the ‘don’t go back to sleep’ habit now, so it’s not likely to turn around overnight, even if you pinpoint the cause. But every little bit helps, right?

        ANYWAY, thanks so much for reblogging this post and – especially – for suggesting readers take a bit more time to watch the video. It’s entertaining as well as enlightening – and really brings home the importance of sleep to health.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, I get up to go to the bathroom, but I don’t turn on any lights – I rely on the moonlight + street lights bringing light into the bedroom and bathroom. If nothing is bothering me, I usually get back to sleep quickly. I’d kill to sleep uninterrupted for 7-8 hours. I’d settle for 5-6 with no interruptions! Often I’ll take a 45-minute nap in the afternoon, and that helps too.

          You’re welcome, Madelyn. It is important – and according to the video presentation, there are a ton of people out there who are not sleeping properly or enough.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. It’s quite the epidemic – no exaggeration. National Geographic did an excellent documentary on sleep. I’ll leave you a link the next time your up all night and have about an hour. It’s quite entertaining, but too long to put in a sleep post.

            Here ’tis:
            ‪National geographic science of sleep‬

            Liked by 1 person

                    1. I have difficulty being productive in the evening without an afternoon nap. Sometimes when I lie down for a nap I don’t fall asleep. No idea why I slept better last night. It would be lovely to make it 2 in a row!

                      Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

