Making “The Star-Spangled Banner” Come Alive

How do you teach preschoolers to sing The Star-Spangled Banner? Jenny has the answer in this remarkable post by Jennie. In honor of the 4th of July, I pass this along for my American cousins. Please enjoy!

A Teacher's Reflections

Every year I make our country’s National Anthem ‘come alive’ for my preschoolers.  This is a hard song to sing, especially for children.  They know the tune, and thanks to baseball on television and sporting events, “The Star-Spangled Banner”is familiar.  Yet, there is so much more they need to know, never mind singing the song.  Way back when, I bought Peter Spier’s book, The Star-Spangled Banner.  This started my quest, and gave me the perfect tool to teach, inspire, and instill pride.

I remember the day I learned that America did not have an official National Anthem until the 1930’s.  What!  How could that be?  I called my Mother and she confirmed this upsetting news.

What did you sing when you were a little girl?

We sang “My Country, ‘Tis of Thee.”

Really?  While this didn’t bother my Mother, it fueled me.  It was the “GO” button, and…

View original post 328 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

9 thoughts on “Making “The Star-Spangled Banner” Come Alive”

  1. Wonderful post, John. I love the book, used it in my classroom and recently boxed up a load of wonderful patriotic books from my collection and sent them off to Grands in New Mexico. Thanks for the shout–out for America as we celebrate our Independence Day. HAPPY CANADA DAY to you and all of our wonderful Canadian friends! 🙂 Blessings… xo

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

