Turtlenecks & Wool: Yea or Nay?

Madelyn Griffith-Haynie talks about sensory sensitivities as having their roots in the way the brain is wired – fascinating reading!

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

Are YOU “sensory defensive”
Do YOUR little quirks & preferences (or those of a loved one)
have a brain-based explanation?

© Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
from the Comorbidities Series

Sensory sensitivities

Regular readers already know of my intense disregard for summer. I can’t deal with heat.  Not only am I extremely uncomfortable, practically on the verge of passing out from heatstroke, I seem to lose the ability to think.  My brain wilts.

As October is a week old already – Indian Summer begone! – I am practically giddy as I begin to dig out my woolly turtleneck sweaters and the boots last seen before the weather turned beastly hot.

I am eagerly anticipating the arrival of the day when I can put away ALL my summer clothes and start wearing coats and gloves, swaddling my neck in long wool scarves – venturing out once again, in

View original post 2,463 more words

Author: John Fioravanti

I'm a retired History teacher (35 years), husband, father of three, grandfather of three. My wife, Anne, and I became business partners in December, 2013, and launched our own publishing company, Fiora Books (http://fiorabooks.com), to publish my books. We have been married since 1973 and hope our joint business venture will be as successful as our marriage.

11 thoughts on “Turtlenecks & Wool: Yea or Nay?”

  1. Stupendous to see another of my articles reblogged on YOUR wonderful blog, John. Running my eyes over the text above I answered my own question about why I seem to be struggling today – despite the fact that it rained *all* day and night yesterday, it is still hot and muggy today. (brain-melt ::sigh::)

    However, I am extremely grateful that 24 hours of rain is ALL we got from the latest hurricane. And I’m thrilled that you decided my post was interesting and worthy of a reblog. THANK YOU. Much to be grateful for.
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 1 person

                  1. I’m sure others have tried and I doubt it made the slightest bit of difference. The folks at the top of the Corporate Capitalist ladder rarely seem to care at all about what happens to the “functionaries” at the bottom, viewing them as simply commodities, I suppose.

                    They’re not ALL bad, I’ve heard. One of their truck drivers, a family friend of the late Kate Kelly, says that they treat those folks unusually nicely. Maybe they see them as key employees? (The easily replaceable minimum-wage-only floor employees can’t sell it if the stores don’t have it. Sales slow down, moola stops flowing to the top.)

                    In any case, since I vote with my wallet, I *never* shop there and, if I had ANY other choice, I wouldn’t choose to work for any company that treats their “underlings” so poorly – so I hope we’ll never know.
                    xx,
                    mgh

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. I think very few of the movers and shakers out there in the Corporate World give a hoot about anything other than the bottom line and their own personal security and pleasure. It’s why everything in our capitalist paradise is such a mess. However, that problem is clearly secondary when we have a madman with his trigger finger itching on America’s nuclear arsenal.

                      Liked by 1 person

I love comments & questions! Please share your thoughts!

